Migraines

I have had migraines since I was a child.  Sometimes I can go weeks without them, but not very often.  Sometimes I have had them that lasted a whole month without a break.  

The last several years its more like several a week.  Sometimes on a good week just two.  Sometimes 5 days of the week will be migraines, sometimes just one 4 day migraine.

I have found ways to function with them.  Caffeine helps, over the counter migraine meds take the edge off, rest, avoiding sound and light, prescription medication, eating, and some days just ignoring them as best as I can, distractions help.  I rarely miss work because of a migraine.  If its a work day I do all of the above, and force myself to go into my classes.  Sometimes they are so bad though I can’t stand to hear my own breathing, I need to wear a blindfold and hide behind a closed door.  I hate this because there is nothing at all I can do except focus on the pain.  

I have tried herbs, meds, diets, and all sorts of alternative remedies and nothing makes them go away.

Its been recently that I found out they are most likely caused by my Psoriatic Arthritis.  When I think about it they probably started about the same time my Psoriasis started, preteen.  But the truth is they aren’t 100% sure what causes any migraine.

Knowing that, as I sit here with depressed and unambitious on my third day of a migraine, I have some hope that the Remicade will actually help with the migraines.

Has anyone else with an auto immune or arthritis also suffer from chronic migraine?

5 Comments

Filed under Coping, Health, Infusions, Migraines, Pain, Remicade

5 responses to “Migraines

  1. About a month ago I was doing some research on hypothyroidism and how iodine supplementation can help regulate the thyroid. Several websites said our bodies need at least 12.5 mg NOT mcg per day as the RDA suggests. (You can check my post on hypothyroidism for good websites). Anyways, I started taking it just to see if there was any value to it. I have had headaches at least a couple of times per week for almost 40 years.

    As a result of taking iodine every day (with all my other vitamins) I have not had a headache since I started taking this. Additionally, I no longer have hot flashes due to menopause, no longer all the fatigue I had every day, and brain fog has completely cleared. To me, it’s nothing short of amazing. I’ve never had any vitamin supplement do more for me than iodine to regulate my thyroid. I noticed changes after one week of supplementation. You may want to check it out. I know the difficulty of having headaches all the time and how debilitating they are. I used to think mine were mostly caused by dehydration, being in the sun, and sinus issues. But after the past month I realize those were not the root issues.

    Not sure if this will help, but when you’re in chronic pain, sometimes it’s worth giving something a try.

    • I really like this idea and am willing to give it a try. Going to wait a few weeks and see if my headaches clear up when my meds kick in. Thanks so much for sharing your wisdom.

      • Your welcome. The more I read the more I realize headaches are a sign of iodine deficiency. You may want to check out some of the links on the article. Some really great stuff.

        Iodine is what the thyroid needs to work properly. I had my annual physical the other day and mentioned all of these symptoms I had that had now cleared up (plus several more I have noticed that are now completely better) and she said she knew iodine was necessary for the thyroid to function properly and when she realized how much it has helped me she is going to start ordering thyroid tests for every wellness physical in the future!

        I also read on one of the sites that one woman had to also use iodine because the thyroid hormone medicine she was using still didn’t relieve headaches.

        I never would have believed it if it hadn’t happened to me personally! I haven’t had a headache in about 6 weeks now since I started taking the supplements. As I said in my post I haven’t gone more than 2 weeks in almost 40 years without a headache until now!

  2. My heart is with you. Migraines are a nasty word and when you compound them with other ailments, it just makes everything else flair up worse. I wish I had answers for you or even a tried and true remedy, but I don’t. All I have is a listening ear (or eyes in this case) and total understanding.

  3. Jen

    Did the Remicaid help

Leave a Reply

