Remicade Infusion #2

Yesterday I had my second Remicade Infusion.  They also gave me Phenergan and Benadryl to contract the itching reaction I get from the Remicade.

I arrived with a migraine, several days long of varying degrees at this point and it got worse as I sat there.  They gave me the Phenergan and Beadryl about halfway through again and I passed out.  They had to wake me when the treatment was over and I stayed groggy and cranky for hours.  I also felt irrationally persecuted and victimized all day long, which is nothing like me at all.  I looked up Phenergan and saw that does cause irrational moods, so I am blaming that.  But it could also just be too many days with too much pain.

I also awoke at about 2 am with the same strong smell I had the day after Remicade last infusion.  I got up and washed and within 15 minutes I could smell it again.  I can’t seem to find anything on smell being a side effect for any of the medications they give me.  I would love to hear from anyone else who has this side effect.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Chronic Pain, Health, Infusions, Migraines, Psoriatic Arthritis, Remicade

3 responses to “Remicade Infusion #2

  1. When I read your blog it reminded me of asking my daughter over and over if she could smell something burning. This was approximately the 4th week into a 6 week migraine. Poor dear had to run through the whole house to make sure nothing was on fire. Migraine’s can sometimes cause you to smell something that doesn’t exist. Some experience this in the prodrome stage, but I have found that mine usually begin or become stronger the longer my headache lasts. Today I reblogged a post from Migraine Talk that talks about this being part of an aura. You might want to check that out and see if it is helpful. Now in reference to the medication you had for your treatment and if they can cause this, I don’t know. I do hope you get to feeling better soon.

    • Lori, I have had similar experiences. It seems my senses are always extraordinary, but especially when I have a migraine. Sometimes I think I am hallucinating, but it always turns out I can usually find the smell, even if it wind up having drifted over from a neighbors place. I am really enjoying your comments here, and learning from you. Thanks so much.

      • That’s good you are usually able to find the source. Thank goodness we have never found mine, because I always smell something burning. :/

        I don’t know if learning from me is good. lol There are a heck of a lot of people who know more than me. All I know is what I’ve learned via doctor, internet or trial & error. But I do appreciate your kindness. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

