Daily Health Journal- Day 20

A very bad, truly horrible, very good, wonderful day.

I had a migraine.  All day.  In the morning it was just yellow.  I knew I had a meeting to get to right after lunch so I took some migraine aspirin.  At 11 it was still there, and I added Alleve and ran to my meeting..an hour early.  I came home and lay down for a little while, and almost was late for my actual meeting time.  I got through the meeting..smiling even.  I have quite an amazing team with PTA this year and they are so accommodating to other members and so respectful I am constantly inspired.  By the time I walked in the door was miserable.  Sent my husband to the pharmacy to pick up Maxalt.  Sometimes my migraines are so bad I vomit and sometimes that feels like it relieves so pressure.  Yesterday it just made the pain worse.  I took the Maxalt, which is wonderful because it devolves under your tongue and you get it in your system right away which means your body can’t refuse it either.

Two hours later I am back at school for an association meeting.  I probably shouldn’t have driven myself there.  I was definitely in the red.  Maxalt still hasn’t kicked in at all.  I stopped and got Mc Donalds, both for the extra double size of ice tea caffeine and for my comfort food, french fries.  I get to my meeting only to realize I don’t have my agenda.  There are important things to cover and winging it without a migraine is bad enough.  Amazingly we did it.  The team I work with is just incredible.  Everyone did their part and I think we pulled off the meeting only forgetting about one important thing.  Then membership table and book fair.  I stayed for both my shifts but there were several other women who stayed for their shifts and then others who not only did their shifts but helped others with theirs so moms could visit classes they may not have been able to.  By the end of the night my migraine was calmed to a nice yellow.

The reason it was a great day is, with everything that had to be done I had a great group of women to work with, understanding and supportive and determined.  And also I got through a red day when I absolutely had to leave the house.  I now have a feeling of empowerment.  I know now that a red day doesn’t always have to stop me.

Something to consider …I craved fat all night, mc donalds, pizza, cupcakes.  I have always assumed when I felt bad I wanted comfort food which for me is buttery foods or deep fried, but I did feel better after eating this foods.  I am going to look for a fat/migraine connection.  Next time I get a bad migraine I am going to try eating an avocado or coconut oil or some sort of good fat and see if it helps at all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chronic Pain, communication, Coping, Daily Journal, Health, Migraines, Pain

Leave a Reply

