Remicade dosing

I had a doctors appointment Monday and the doctor recommended that we move the Remicade to every 6 weeks instead of every 8 weeks.  Its a hassle because not only do I have to sit there for hours, but its hours away.  Plus I fall asleep for about 24 hours after, and am rather out of it in a druggy haze for a couple of days.  The worst part is since the premeds knock me out so hard there is no way I can drive myself.  So I need to ask someone else to spend an entire day driving me around, and waiting for hours at the local Starbucks.

But if I am going to go through the hassle and side effects of this medication, I certainly want it to work.  So I agreed with minimum complaining.  I did feel so good after the last Remicade infusion, and the more often I have it, the more likely I am to have days like that.

I have pretty good insurance, but my doctor says the reason I have to drive all the way to Redlands is because no place closer to me will take Regal Health Care.  His Corona office IS a cancer center and does chemotherapy off all sorts but Regal doesn’t pay them enough for them to accept it.  I guess I am lucky there is someplace I can get the medication, and with a reasonable co-pay.  If I had no insurance I can’t imagine the pain I would be in daily.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Journal, exercising with illness, Pain, Psoriatic Arthritis, Remicade

Leave a Reply

