Migraines

Tuesday I stayed in bed until late afternoon with a migraine.  Took Maxalt, Excedrine Migraine, and topped it off with an almost illegal amount of caffeine.  Since then I have been drinking a mild but constant amount of caffeine to keep it at bay.  It started to hit hard about bedtime last night, and by almost 3 am I was wandering the house for a quiet place to sleep, and wound up with the pain keeping me awake anyways.  I try not to take meds or caffeine at night because they both tend to keep me awake, but after an hour I took a Maxalt anyways.

I have read that many women stop getting their migraines during or after menopause.  That will give me a hopeful reason to not mind the early signs of it I have been experiencing the last few months.  I would rather be awaken by night sweats than stabbing pain any day.  My great aunt though, who is 90 I believe, still suffers almost daily migraines to this day.  I am sure she wishes menopause had taken care of her migraines.

Still it seems I have less these days.  There is a chance the migraines are made worse by the arthritis, and in that case the Remicade could be helping.

Some non-medical things I have found to help migraines if they aren’t full blown red yet…eating, coffee, distractions such as some boring tv show on low, (I think the low sound helps keep other sounds like my own breathing, or the dog walking down the hall from making me want to hurt someone), and forgive me for saying so grandma, but it might help someone else, orgasms.  (thanks cousins for sharing that family secret with me)  IF they are fullblown, completely silence and darkness are about all I can survive. My house being almost always bustling, I find many of those things rare if not impossible, as alone time is at a premium, and quiet is not something that happens, but I almost always have someone who will bring me a cup of coffee in bed and who will turn off sesame street for me when I fall asleep to it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Migraines, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

