Tooth Pain

I have been experiencing severe tooth pain for several months now.  I mentioned it to my dentist who examed my tooth and said it was fine.  I went back a month later, and told him the pain was now excruciating, and he said I pointed out a different tooth.  Many of my teeth seemed sensitive in the test but since it was waking me up from sleep and the pain was lasting hours to days he called in another dentist and they agreed the root was compromised and started a root canal.  I go back in two weeks to finish it.  In the meantime not only is that tooth still sensitive, but so are most my bottom teeth, especially the ones in front.  My arthritis is so painful in my jaw that I started to wonder if maybe the pain was caused by the psoriatic arthritis.  I would like to know before I get any more root canals.  Of course its a new symptom and it could be my medicine as well.  I can’t seem to find that it is an official symptom,but my most common symptoms are not textbook.  I have found a lot of chat room post about people with PsA having tooth pain.  Thought I would put it out there to see if anyone has any feedback.

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Tooth Pain

  1. I have PSA in all joints and have tooth and jaw pain. I went to the dentist who confirmed its arthritis and as I have osteoarthritis in my knees hips and spine-it’s probably that type.
    As its causing sleepless nights she recommended I take amitriptyline (alongside tramadol and ibuprofen methotrexate and Humira) This is a muscle relaxant-I describe the pain in my jaw is as if my Top jaw is pressing down on the bottom and my teeth constantly ache. My jaw clicks and cluncks when I wake up.
    The spine arthritis causes pinching of nerves so I’m Wondering if there’s nerve damage in my teeth too.
    Good luck in finding a cure for your pain!

    • J. Bruce Wallace

      Since you have Psoriatic Arthritis are you by any chance taking Remicade infusions? I started taking this with great results 7 months ago, but recently have experienced severe pain in my teeth and there is a considerable information that suggests it is a side effect of Remicade treatment.

  2. Stella McGuinness

    I have Psa and get excruciating toothache. All of my teeth ache at once so much it reduces me to tears, and I am not on Remicade. I am on Hydrochloriqine.

  3. Amy

    I have Psa and periodic tooth pain. I recently saw my dentist for my cleaning and check up. Xrays fine, teeth fine..just like last year. So I asked her if it could be my MS. She said No. I asked if it could be Psa. She thought a minute and said it could very well be. That our teeth are attached to to our jaw bone via ligaments and that ligaments become inflamed with Psa. Looks like this inflammation causes the teeth to become detached from the jaw over time. I do not take medication for Psa.

    • Carl

      Hi Amy, did you still not take meds for PSA, i’m told i have a mild form and will not medicate me but i get horrible pains in all joins but no swelling.

      Thanks Carl

  4. Rosemary

    Hi, thanks to all of you! I’m so glad to have found your site last night. I was diagnosed with PsA for about a year ago. Humira and methotrexate have really helped my hips, ankles and wrist. About 2 weeks ago collar bone, jaw and severe tooth pain started. My dentist cleared me of any tooth problems. My rheumatologist’s office said it would “be rare” to have PsA there and suggested I see urgent care as I may have an Infection. No infection, but I was given a steroid shot for swollen glands. I’ve been so depressed because I thought I was losing my mind…..

    • So glad you found it too Rosemary. I wanted to mention here that my PsA often displays as chest or JAW pain. It feels a lot like a heart attack. It seems what is happening is although my heart is healthy the tissue around my heart is swelling and mimicking the symptoms of a heart attack. This pain sometimes radiates into my teeth, but the teeth pain was different. There is no part of the body immune to PsA, it can even attack the eyes and other organs in rare cases.

  5. jo hildred

    so glad I found this site, I have been having problems with my teeth and gums, going to the dentist on monday , this a big thing for me as always had a fear of dentist but know I can not put it off any longer, Intresting info about the heart as well , I have had symtoms like thishought a couple of times I was imaiging it, thanks 🙂

  6. Jeanette

    I also was diagnosed with Psa, I had periodontal surgery 25 years ago on my entire month. I also had braces which were extremely painful. It seems I have had psa for many many years undiagnosed. Sometimes when the weather changes, I get severe pain in my teeth and gums. Feels as though I have a cavity in each tooth or maybe need many root canals. When the weather changed 2 days ago my pain in my mouth was so bad that it brought me to tears. Also had chest pains at the same time with no problems ever diagnosed with my ticker. So glad I am not alone and that I found this website. I can weather this storm if I know the sun will come out tomorrow. Peace be with all of you. 🙂

  7. Jeanette

    I also was diagnosed with Psa, I had periodontal surgery 25 years ago on my entire mouth. I also had braces which were extremely painful. It seems I have had psa for many many years undiagnosed. Sometimes when the weather changes, I get severe pain in my teeth and gums. Feels as though I have a cavity in each tooth or maybe need many root canals. When the weather changed 2 days ago my pain in my mouth was so bad that it brought me to tears. Also had chest pains at the same time with no problems ever diagnosed with my ticker. So glad I am not alone and that I found this website. I can weather this storm if I know the sun will come out tomorrow. Peace be with all of you. 🙂

  8. I have PSA tooth and jaw pain too. Dentist said I probably have osteo arthritis in my jaw (I have osteo in hips) but only last week was diagnosed with fibromyalgia which causes widespread pain- including jaw & tooth pain.
    I’m now on muscle relaxant (along with my usual cocktail of meds-humira injections etc etc)

  9. Leisa Tamblyn

    I have teeth pain and jaw pain with psa also I’ve lost teeth because they thought that they couldn’t save them. I hope you find some relief

  10. I was at Dentist today. I have PsA with severe Scalp psoriasis. I am 65. I had a bad pain in a tooth on the upper arch. 3 of them are crowned. Dentist wants me to have 3 Root Canals, now surely, with Psoriatic Arthritis, the immune system is compromised, and especially with Biologics like humira etc., so surely the root canals willnot work ? I had about 5 root canals when I was younger, and when I was in good health, and none of them were successful. I always ended up, having to have the tooth out. Anyone able to throw light on this?

    Thanks

  11. Sue

    I to have tooth pain …thought the dentist was missing a cavity or worse an abcess, but after reading these responses from you guys I know I am not going crazy. Thanks!

  12. Ever since I started having PSA symptoms, I’ve had nothing but problems with my teeth. I had two cavities when I was a teenager (after not seeing a dentist for 7 years), my teeth are pretty straight, no problems. Now, it seems like I’m going to the dentist a couple of times a year with tooth pain and they can never find anything. I recently got one of my molars removed because it had been in pain like this for two years. I’m worried because it seems like one of my front teeth is doing the same thing. It sucks. It hurts to eat.

  13. Mer

    I too have tooth pain and gums ache. No cavities just sore and throbbing. I have PSA for 9 years now. Have been on everything. Remicade, Humeria, now I’m on Orencia infusions . The tooth pain and soreness has been driving me crazy for a week now. This disease is horrible. Have been living on motrin. Which is not good for blood pressure. Every day or week its a new pain or ache. Had both hips replaced because of PSA, God Bless and hang in there fellow sufferers.

Leave a Reply

