Midnight migraine

Wee hours of the morning I woke my husband to get me migraine Meds. The sound or my own breathing was painful. Infact just the air pressure on my ears sounded like screaming. By 4 am I was wide awake and still in miserable pain. I could hear my pulse so loud in my head. It didn’t take long to realize it was irregular. Thuda, thuda, thu —–(4 second pause). I don’t know if the odd pulse was causing the migraine or the other way around. But the noise of it was driving me crazy. Then I remembered what my musical friend Carlos said to me about static over a loud speaker at a restaurant. He said think of it as music. Then I started to think of Don Baarns Musicality lessons. Soon I was counting the heart beats like music one and two and three, pause, pause, pause, pause. Before too long I was doing preps and double pirouettes in my head. Dancing to the rhythm of the pain. It was calming. I hope when it’s time for me to leave this plane I can let go of fear and just let my imagination dance to the rhythm of goodbye.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chronic Pain, Coping, Migraines, Pain

Leave a Reply

