Kidney stones – a case in what I don’t know, won’t hurt me?

This post has nothing to do with PsA, but this page has become more my general health post, with PsA being my main but not only struggle.  I have had a confusion few weeks healthwise and find it all hard to explain and to understand, so here it goes, me trying to do both within my blog.

About 3 weeks ago I went in and asked my doctor about getting something preventative for my migraines, to see if I might get something to help with them before I went to Europe.  My doctor being out of the office for maternity leave I wound up seeing a Nurse Practitioner, who I love because she really listens.  A few days after taking the medicine, Topamax, I had what I thought was a horrible reaction.  It felt as if I had been hit by a truck in my lower back, with pain radiating throughout my torso.  I had severe nausea, and was vomiting.  This lasted two days, over the weekend.  Then it subsided and the same pain but not as severe kept me up the following night.  I went in and told the NP and asked her to be taken off the medicine.  She said it didn’t sound like a side effect from the medicine, but quartered the meds and kept me on them.  I was kept up two additional nights so I returned.  She said she thought it was kidney stones and not the meds and ordered an Xray.  I got a call back in two days, saying I had bilateral kidney stones and to start a medication they had ready for pick up right away.  I did.  They also had me schedule a follow up for this morning, which I went to.

The NP said their were several spots on both sides of my kidneys that were most likely kidney stones but she couldn’t tell how big they were, so she wanted to do some further tests today, so that I could have procedures if needed before I leave for Europe next week.  At this point, I asked her if I could have some opiates for the plane ride, just in case I happened to pass a stone on the plane.  She said of course.

Then she went to schedule the appointment, leaving the door open.  I heard a mans voice asking if a patient had just asked for opiates, and heard the NP explaining the situation.  I then here this man, who doesn’t know me say, “oh I bet its just muscular and she is fine”  he then comes into the room and jabs his finger in my back and I say “ouch” and he hollars to the NP in the other room, See, just superficial muscular pain, and says to me, I bet your urine test comes out with no blood in it as well.  Maybe you hurt your muscle.  And he leaves.

She comes back into the room, closes the door, says she can’t give me anything but muscle relaxers and can’t schedule the tests because the doctor (who doesn’t know me, hasn’t spoken to me, and doesn’t sound like he has glanced at my charts) says its just a sore muscle.  I explain that I have PsA and he could have jabbed my leg and it would have hurt, and what would that have proven.  She seems to understand, tells me to please keep taking the Kidney stone medicine that will help them pass less painfully, and that there was blood in my urine which is consistent with kidney stones and that she is sending the sample in for a culture to make sure I don’t have an infection.

I FEEL like the doctor saw me as a drug seeking addict so rejected my pain right out.  Maybe that wasn’t it, maybe this NP has a history of ordering unnecessary tests, but the dismissive way he treated me, I left feeling horrible.  I live in a great amount of pain.  I was a dancer.  I know what a pulled muscle or sore muscle feels like.  I would not confuse a pull muscle with pain this intense.

What do I do now? Do I just let it go since I am being treated for a kidney stone anyways? Do I go back and see her if it gets bad again?  Should I just go to the ER if it gets that intense?  Heck, I don’t even know if I have kidney stones are not at this point, but I know I don’t just have a sore back muscle.  I suppose I should not have asked for the opiates for the plane, but the pain I am having can be so incredibly intense I just can’t imagine having it while stuck in the air.  I have both hypochondria and drug addiction in my family and I feel like this doctor has just accused me of one of the other, and I am feeling embarrassed and ashamed, and the last thing I want to do is go back there.  Has anyone else with pain ever felt like a doctor was treating them like a drug addict?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Kidney stones – a case in what I don’t know, won’t hurt me?

  1. No but I had a doctor prescribe anti depressants when I can in crying because I couldn’t sleep because I could not stop coughing. Told me that I should go home and take echinacea and vitamin C. The cough lasted for at least three years..went through all kinds of different doctors, none of which helped. All of which prescribed meds. I had a basket of pills that didn’t help me. I finally went to the health ood store out of desperation… That was my ticket back to health.

  2. Kidney stone pain is real. People are given morphine for it! I would go eslewhere if you can. I quit my urologist because he treated me like an idiot. When I went to the ER for high blood pressure 180/122 (stress induced) I was told – by the doctor – “We don’t treat high blood pressure.” At which point I asked, “DO YOU TREAT STROKES???” If you end up going on the plane without any pain meds – at least take ibuprophen if you are able. It has helped me with flank pain but I have to stay on top of it.

Leave a Reply

